• Already halfway through my stay!

    This week was my first time working at the Enjoy Public art gallery.

    I helped prepare the last details before the opening of the exhibition. Here is a description of Yona Lee’s work.

    Already the half of my stay!

     

    “Enjoy Public Art Gallery is very excited to announce a major installation by Yona Lee. Drawing from previous works where the artist utilized steel rods to explore formal ideas relating to line and space, Tangential Structures is a work that incorporates an impossible dichotomy. Steel rods cast in such a way as to evoke movement and fluidity hang from the ceiling at Enjoy, loosely flung over rafter beams and looping playfully through the space. The very temporary gestures – careless loops, waves, curls and hooks – are at odds with the cold, hard qualities of the steel, creating contradictory material behavior that behaves improperly to the forces of gravity and logic. Within this structure, Lee has also incorporated various quotidian objects, such as baseball caps, wine glasses and coffee cups, which are employed to reference different aspects of ordinary rituals and everyday habits. The project intends to take the viewer on a journey through the installation that triggers their own understanding of various spaces, particularly those that are marked by the slick, yet very ordinary, language of commercial display.”

     

    I got to know a lot of volunteers and people often came to me for more information or just to talk about their impressions and feelings about the work.

    On Tuesday, I went to the weekly tramping meeting and presented the track we did last week. It was the first time I had to speak in front of so many people! As always the meeting was followed by tacos for dinner. It is a very friendly and relaxed time: we all go to the market together, buy things to prepare tacos and go to someone’s place and cook all together.

     

    As it is the last week before the mid-trimester break I was wondering where I could go and decided to travel with a French girl, a German one and another one from the Netherlands. We would go on a road trip on the east cost of the south island!

     

    On Friday I went to a rugby game. How can people go to NZ without watching one live?! The game was Wellington (Hurricanes) against Perth in Western Australia (Force).

    Already the half of my stay!

    The atmosphere was really relaxed.

    Before the opening there was Maori music and then a woman came on the field dressed in typical Maori dress.

    Already the half of my stay!

     

    The Force didn’t have so many supporters compared to the Hurricanes.

    Already the half of my stay!

    I’ll let you imagine what was happening when the Hurricanes were scoring and when it was the Force! Anyway Wellington won: 22 to 16!

    Already the half of my stay!

     

    Next game: France v All Blacks in June!

     


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :